2023 ASBMB MENTORING AND GRANT-WRITING WORKSHOP Washington Marriott Georgetown, Washington, D. C. Agenda

Thursday, June 8, 2023			
Time	Activity	Presenter	Location
5:30 pm - 6:00 pm	Pick up name badges and workshop packets		West End
6:00 pm - 6:30 pm	Networking Reception		West End
6:30 pm – 8:00 pm	Opening remarks: Welcome reception and dinner	Dr. Sonia Flores	West End
8:00 pm – 9:00 pm	Balancing Teaching, Research, and Service: Group Discussion	Dr. Kayunta Johnson-Winters	West End
Friday, June 9, 2023			
Time	Activity	Presenter	Location
7:15 am	Breakfast		West End
8:15 am – 8:45 am	Overview of IMAGE and programmatic events	Dr. Squire J. Booker Dr. Anna Woodcock	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
8:45 am – 9:45 am Q/A: 9:45 am – 10:00 am	Navigating the NSF Funding Process and Q/A Session	Dr. Wilson Francisco	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
10:00 am – 10:30 am	Break and Networking		West End
10:30 am – 11:30 am Q/A: 11:30 am – 11:45 am	Navigating the NIH Funding Process and Q/A Session	Dr. Dorothy Beckett Dr. Michelle Bond	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm	Lunch		West End
12:00 pm – 1:00 pm	Working Lunch - Mid-career grant opportunities (mid-career participants only)	Dr. Leslie Rissler	Thomas Salon
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm Q/A: 2:00 – 2:15 pm	Submitting a Proposal to NIH and the Review Process The NIH Early Career Reviewer Program	Dr. Jessica Smith	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
1:00 pm – 2:00 pm	Promotion Requirements (mid- career participants only)	Dr. Kayunta Johnson-Winters Dr. Donald Elmore	Thomas Salon
2:15 pm – 3:30 pm	Mock Review Panels	Dr. Wilson Francisco Dr. Vahe Bandarian <i>Others To Be Determined</i>	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
3:30 pm – 4:00 pm	A Discussion of NSF Broader Impacts	Dr. Bianca Garner	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
4:00 pm – 4:30 pm	Break		West End
4:30 pm – 7:00 pm	Research Presentations (5)		Dupont Ballroom 6-8/ Thomas Salor
7:00 pm	Dinner		West End

Saturday, June 10, 2023			
Time	Activity	Presenter	Location
7:15 am	Breakfast		West End
8:30 am - 11:00 am	Research Presentations (5)		Dupont Ballroom 6-8/ Thomas Salon
11:00 am – 11:30 am	Break		West End
11:30 am – 12:00 pm	Lessons Learned as a Past Attendee	Dr. N.C. Martinez-Gomez	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
12:00 pm – 12:30 pm	Fruitful Collaborations and Conflict Resolution	Dr. Vahe Bandarian	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
12:30 am – 1:30 pm	Lunch		West End
12:30 am – 1:30 pm	Working Lunch – Discussion: Strategically Using the Freedom of Tenure (mid-career participants only)	Dr. Kayunta Johnson-Winters Dr. Donald Elmore	Thomas Salon
1:30 pm – 4:00 pm	Research Presentations (5)		Dupont Ballroom 6-8/ Thomas Salon
4:00 pm – 4:30 pm	Break		West End
4:30 pm – 6:30 pm	Elements of a Successful NIH Proposal	Dr. Sonia Flores Dr. Squire J. Booker	Dupont Ballroom 6-8
6:30 pm – 7:00 pm	Summary and Final Remarks	Dr. Squire J. Booker Dr. Anna Woodcock	
7:30 pm	Dinner (offsite)		RIS, 2275 L Street NW, Washington, DC 20037

List of Mentors, Program Directors, Presenters and Staff

List of Mentors			
	Title	Institution	Email
Vahe Bandarian, Ph.D.	Professor of Chemistry and Associate Dean for Student Affairs	The University of Utah	vahe@chem.utah.edu
Squire J. Booker, Ph.D.	Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry, and of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Howard Hughes Medical Institute	The Pennsylvania State University/HHMI	sjb14@psu.edu
Donald Elmore, Ph.D.	Professor of Chemistry	Wellesley College	delmore@wellesley.edu
Karen Fleming, Ph.D.	Professor of Biophysics	Johns Hopkins University	Karen.Fleming@jhu.edu
Sonia Flores, Ph.D.	Professor of Pulmonary Sciences and Critical Care Medicine, Vice Chair for Diversity and Justice	University of Colorado School of Medicine	sonia.flores@cuanschutz.edu
Marina Holz, Ph.D.	Professor of Cell Biology and Anatomy, Integrated Ph.D. Program Director, Dean of the Graduate School of Basic Medical Sciences	New York Medical College	mholz@nymc.edu
Kayunta Johnson- Winters, Ph.D.	Associate Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry	University of Texas at Arlington	kayunta@uta.edu
N. Cecelia Martinez- Gomez, Ph.D.	Assistant Professor of Microbiology and Molecular Genetics	University of California, Berkeley	cecimartinez@berkely.edu
Rick Page, Ph.D.	Associate Vice President of Research and Innovation Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry	Miami University	pagerc@miamioh.edu
Reuben Peters, Ph.D.	Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Molecular Biology	Iowa State University	rjpeters@iastate.edu

	List of Program Directo	rs and Scientific Officers	
	Title and Division	Scientific Office	Email
Dorothy Beckett, Ph.D.	Program Director, NIH/NIGMS, Division of Biophysics, Biomedical Technology, and Computational Biosciences	NIH/NIGMS	dorothy.beckett@nih.gov
Michelle Bond, Ph.D.	Program Director, NIH/NIGMS Division of Pharmacology, Physiology and Biological Chemistry	NIH/NIGMS	michelle.bond2@nih.gov
Wilson Francisco, Ph.D.	Program Director, NSF Division of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry	NSF, MCB	wfrancis@nsf.gov
Bianca Garner, Ph.D.	Program Director, NSF Division of Molecular and Cellular Biochemistry	NSF, MCB	bgarner@nsf.gov
Leslie J. Rissler, Ph.D.	Directorate for Biological Sciences, NSF	NSF, BIO/DEB	lrissler@nsf.gov
Jessica Smith, Ph.D.	Scientific Review Officer, NIH Division of Basic and Integrative Biological Sciences	NIH, DBIB	smithjm2@mail.nih.gov
	Other Presenters	s and Participants	
	Title	Institution	Email
Anna Woodcock, Ph.D.	Research Faculty	Claremont Graduate University	anna.woodcock@cgu.edu
	ASBM	B Staff	
	Title		Email
Kirsten Block, Ph.D.	Director of Education, Professional Development & Outreach	ASBMB	kblock@asbmb.org
Kanika Pulliam, Ph.D.	Assistant Director of Professional Development	ASBMB	kpulliam@asbmb.org

Mentors

Group 1	Group 2
Squire Booker	Vahe Bandarian
Donald Elmore	Karen Fleming
Sonia Flores	Kayunta Johnson-Winters
Marina Holz	Rick Page
N. Cecelia Martinez-Gomez	Reuben Peters

Participants

Group 1	Group 2
Joseph Chaney	John Alumasa
Roslyn Crowder	José Carmona-Negrón
Elvis Cuevas	Sijia Dong
Elizabeth Delorme-Axford	Alfredo Hernandez
Lezi E	Joonas Jamsen
Megan Filbin	Anastasia Manesis
Oriana Fisher	Samuel Mann
Jane Frandsen	Monica McCallum
Sarah Fritz	Jeff McFarlane
Melanie McReynolds	Marco Messina
Josephine Mitchell	Gabriella Papale
Mauro Montalbano	Elias Picazo
Maria Ninova	José Rodriquez-Martinez
Herana Kamal Seneviratne	Katherine Rush
Byung Ran So	Catie Shelton